Thursday, May 05, 2005

Loki Does The Border!!!

Recently, as many of you know, I spent time on the Arizona/Mexico border with the "Minutemen Project", one of the few organizations who truly understands the vast importance of protecting our border from those who use it as a revolving door. It turned out to be the most gratifying 5 days of my entire life, for I knew in my heart it was the most important thing I could do for my beloved nation and it's future.
As I did not want to go alone I took a girl friend of mine with me. We packed camping gear, snack food, lots of water, and of course our guns, which are legal to carry around in Arizona, and made the 9 hour trip in my Chevy suburban from Las Vegas, NV. to the Arizona border. We were a little worried about the safety factor of 2 girls being alone with no men around to protect us, after all we were not sure who exactly was gonna show up there, but when we arrived we were greeted by several ex-military and ex-police so we soon felt there was no safer place in the world for us to be. We also met people who had lost loved ones on 9-11 and people who had family in Iraq and Afghanistan and people who just love their country and realize that protecting our border is the most important thing we can do right now!!!
We had all been informed before hand, and reminded when we got there, that the eyes of the world were upon us. We were labeled vigilantes before we even arrived. SO MUCH FOR THE OL' INNOCENT UNTIL PROVEN GUILTY MOTTO!!!! Even our beloved Bush called us vigilantes, which really hurt!!!...I mean we expect liberals to poo poo all things patriotic.... but Bush too?!!!.............So we were given strict guidelines on how to conduct ourselves and our operation and that the media may not necessarily be on our side in this issue and that they would be waiting for us to screw up. Now those of you who know me well understand that "behaving" is not something I do well, I am the Loki after all, but I did me very best as this was for the good ol' USA!!!Generally, without boring you with too many details, we were instructed to not confront the illegals ourselves but to call the border patrol when we saw someone and let them handle it, which is basically exactly what we did. We sat in lawn chairs or on pickup beds and with our binoculars scanned the Mexican wasteland, with only a shabby barbwire fence separating us from them. We often strolled the fence line, many with rifles propped upon their shoulders like some long forgotten sentry from days gone by. I arrived after the operation had already been going on for a couple of weeks so by the time I got there...the Minutemen already had a pretty good Idea of exactly where the illegals were crossing in our 23 mile section that we were patrolling.
There were basically 3 paths they were using and each day (night mostly) there would be hundreds of Mexicans with back packs walking towards our border. We spotted them and called the border patrol as instructed. I know many of you may have heard that the border patrol did not like us being there, but I am here to let you know that the border patrol agents out there in the field were extremely happy that we were there because they hope this will get them the help they have been asking our govt for for years..more agents!!!
We were even able to get hold of a pamphlet that is being distributed by the Mexican Govt. telling them how to get across and then blend into the woodwork here once they do, The Minutemen founders planned to take it to Washington with them when they went last week to show Congress, as they demand that our borders be shut down to all illegal traffic.
When not on duty, as it were, we sat around and told each other stories of how illegals are taking over our towns and cities and jobs too for that matter........ And being in Las Vegas I can tell you that seeing a "white American" face is getting more and more rare around here!! Casinos, convenience stores, fast food places, all just dripping with people who can barely grasp the English language. It is pathetic!!!...................Anyway there was a real connection between everyone there, just plain old ordinary Americans getting together for a good cause, which is something we do quite well. We took care of each other and had a blast doing it... it was one big camping fest I tell ya!!!
Anyway, by the end of the project ( or experiment, as it really was) the border crossings in our 23 mile stretch of border were down 98%. I am not sure how that other 2% got past us, but oh well, I'll take 98% for our first trial run. We were even told that the Coyotes (drug runners and people smugglers) had given orders not to use our stretch of the border as a crossing point, so I guess we stopped a few drugs as well as illegals in our stay....hooray for us!!!!!
Well, that's about it I guess, but let me finish by encouraging each of you to pay attention to the Minutemen and support them. We have a constitutional right to protect our country and a civic duty to make sure that it gets done. Think of your children and your grand kids, even if you don't have any yet, and lets make the future for them an "American one"!!! Together, we the people are the most powerful on earth and we can force our govt to do the right thing, and until they do, it is up to us to do the job for them. After 9-11 we can no longer sit back and hope all things go well, we must become citizen soldiers, we must protect the future of America. She has given us so much and now it is time for a little payback as it were!!!
And by all means, join a Minuteman project near you!!!!!!!!!!!!!! There are plans for more border duty assignments and there are plans to picket companies that hire illegals, and there are congressmen to write, so surely each and everyone of you can participate in protecting YOUR America one way or another. Try it out, I guarantee you'll feel great about yourself, I sure do!!!!!!!!!...with all me luff...Loki
P.S. By the way ladies, while I was there I got to meet Sean Hannity from Fox news and got his autograph and got to touch his hand ..so eat your heart out girls!!!...all hail the Loki!!...lol